Turkey to Lift Visas for Five Schengen Countries and UK

Have a plan to visit Turkey this summer? Good news for anyone wanting to travel to Turkey. Turkey will lift visa restrictions for tourists from Austria, Belgium, the Netherlands, Poland, Spain and the U.K. starting March 2, spokesman Hami Aksoy said Thursday.


Turkey will suspend entry visa requirements for British holidaymakers next month in a bid to boost inbound tourism.

Brits travelling to Turkey currently have to acquire a $35 (£27) e-visa permitting them entry.

However, from 2 March, the UK – along with several countries in the EU Schengen area – will be granted an exemption to Turkey’s visa rules.

Turkey is already a popular destination for British tourists, with more than 2.5 million arrivals last year.

Some 51.9 million people visited Turkey in 2019, including 44.7 million foreigners and 7.2 million Turkish expats.

A statement issued by Ministry of Foreign Affairs said: “As of 2 March 2020, Turkey has decided to exempt visa requirements for the members of the European Union Schengen area, Austria, Belgium, the Netherlands, Spain, Poland as well as the United Kingdom citizens for touristic travels to Turkey for every 90 days within 180 day period.

This step aims at increasing our tourism potential with these countries as well as further developing our trade, economic and cultural relations.”

It is unclear at this stage whether the exemption will continue to apply to the UK once the Brexit transition period ends on 31 December.

Leave a Comment